Country stars have been quick to respond to the news of a devastating storm which churned huge tornadoes spread through the southern United States yesterday, leaving miles of destruction in its path and over 250 people in six states dead. Tuscaloosa, Alabama was the worst hit, as it suffered more than half of the fatalities from the F5 twister, though Mississippi, Georgia, Virginia and Arkansas were also greatly damaged.

The footage shown on the news depicts mile-wide tornadoes engulfing small towns, leaving little more than debris behind. Country music's biggest stars -- many of whom call those states home -- took to Twitter to express their concerns for the victims of the heart-breaking storms and asked fans to reach out to the Red Cross to donate money to the relief efforts. Taylor Swift, Colt Ford, LeAnn Rimes Cibrian, Reba McEntire and more reached out to their followers to share their thoughts.

Taylor Swift (@taylorswift13): "We're at rehearsals watching videos of the tornadoes in Tuscaloosa. Our love and hopes and thoughts and prayers go out to everyone affected."

Wynonna Judd (@wynonnamusic): "My heart goes out to those affected by the devastating tornadoes in the South. Follow my friends @RedCross for response updates"

Darius Rucker (@dariusrucker): "My heart goes out to those affected by the devastating storms. To help donate to the Red Cross http://bit.ly/kUu2zb or txt REDCROSS to 90999"

Jake Owen (@jakeowen): "My heart goes out to all affected by the horrific storms yesterday. I'm saddened by the news Ive heard this morning."

Reba McEntire (@reba): "If you can't go to the concert to help OK tornado victims, text OKGIVE to 27722 to give a $10 donation It'll be added to your phone bill."

Colt Ford (@coltford): "Everyone Please keep all the Folks who have lost their Life and the Famlies who have Lost so much in these Storms. Please Pray for them."

Ashley Monroe (@ashleymonroe): "So so sad for everyone in Tuscaloosa .. horrible ..:("

Randy Houser (@randyhouser): "Praying for all the Tornado victims and their families. God Bless you all."

Chely Wright (@chelywright): "oh my God. This is so heartbreaking. Praying for them all. “@nytimes: NYT NEWS ALERT: Tornadoes Ravage South; Death Toll at 173”

LeAnn Rimes Cibrian (@leannrimes): "My heart goes out to my southern friends and family. I love you all!!!"

Jason Michael Carroll (@JMCofficial): "Thoughts and prayers going out to all of those affected by the deadly tornadoes across our country!"

Michelle Branch (@michellebranch): "Sending good vibes and well wishes to all of those affected in Alabama. xo and Mississippi too!!!"

David Nail (@davidnail): "These Alabama videos are unreal! Can't say enough prayers for the people there! May all the Crimson Tide and War Eagle rally together!"

Terri Clark (@terriclarkmusic): "Praying for everyone in Alabama and the surrounding areas of devastation. Our hearts go out to you all. So heartbreaking."

The Band Perry (@thebandperry): "Our hearts are heavy for our Greeneville today. Please send your thoughts and prayers towards our tiny town. #tornado"

James Otto (@jamesotto): "Say prayers for Tuscaloosa Alabama! Incredibly sad."