Contact Us

Garth Brooks, Alan Jackson + More to Be Inducted Into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame

Garth Brooks, Alan Jackson
Adam Bettcher/Kevin Winter, Getty Images

Country superstars Garth Brooks and Alan Jackson are among the honorees being inducted into the 2011 Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation. In addition to Brooks and Jackson being recognized will be hit writers John Bettis, Thom Schuyler and Allen Shamblin. This year’s five inductees will be receive their honors in front of hundreds of their peers during the dinner and induction ceremony in October in Nashville.

“These five very talented individuals are among an era of powerhouse writers and artists who propelled country music to unparalleled heights beginning in the late 1980s and early 1990s, and also made substantial contributions to popular and rock music,” says John Van Mol, chairman of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame, in a press release. “We look forward to a fantastic evening of recognition for our inductees, and great entertainment for all who attend.”

In year’s past, the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame traditionally chose three members to induct, but decided to increase that to five for the 2011 induction ceremony. “Songwriters and songwriter/artists with ties to Nashville have made our city the songwriting capital of the world,” Van Mol says. “This year’s inductees have greatly enhanced that reputation and are richly deserving of Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame honors.”

John Bettis’ songwriter credits includes numerous crossover hits including ‘Top of the World,’ recorded by both the Carpenters and Lynn Anderson, as well as ‘Slow Hand,’ which was made famous by Conway Twitty and the Pointer Sisters. Thom Schuyler’s hits include Kenny Rogers‘ ‘Love Will Turn You Around’ and Michael Martin Murphy’s ‘Love Will Turn You Around.’ Allen Shamblin is one half responsible for the recent Miranda Lambert blockbuster hit ‘The House That Built Me,’ and is the tunesmith behind Bonnie Raitt’s ‘I Can’t Make You Love Me.’

The 41st Anniversary Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Dinner and Induction Ceremony, presented by AT&T, will take place on Sunday, October 16 at the Renaissance Hotel in downtown Nashville.

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of Taste of Country

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Taste of Country quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!