Looks like we're going to start the year strong with plenty of great new country music releases in January 2012, following a dry December. But certainly the biggest new release all month -- and maybe all year -- is Tim McGraw's long-awaited 'Emotional Traffic' album.

In November, McGraw went to court with his label Curb Records and was granted permission to cut the chains from his years-in-the-making new album, giving it a shiny release date: Jan. 17. And while the fight between McGraw and Curb is not over, McGraw's musical freedom has only just begun, starting with 'Emotional Traffic,' which has already spun its first single.

Martina McBride will also have a new release on the shelves on the 17th. 'Hits and More' is a 20-track collection that features three brand-new tracks, as well as all of the classic McBride hits that fans love.

On Jan. 24, Kellie Pickler will deliver her third album, '100 Proof,' which will come packed with the lead-off single, 'Tough.' Also, Neal McCoy will unleash his 'XII' album, which was produced by husband-wife duo Blake Shelton and Miranda Lambert.

Keep checking back to Taste of Country after the ball drops, because there are sure to be more new country music releases on the way! In the meantime, check out our full list of new country albums expected in 2012.

January 2012 New Country Music Releases:

January 17
Martina McBride, 'Hits and More'

January 24
Kellie Pickler, '100 Proof'
Neal McCoy, 'XII'
Tim McGraw, 'Emotional Traffic'