Tyler Farr has beaten the dreaded sophomore slump with the release of his second studio album, Suffer in Peace.

The album moved 41,629 units in total activity in its debut week last week — enough for it to reach the Top 5 in both the Billboard Country Albums chart and the mainstream Billboard Top 200 Albums chart. That feat marks the first time a male country solo artist has had both of his first two solo albums make a Top 5 debut in the Billboard Top 200 Albums chart in the last decade. Farr's first album, Redneck Crazy, reached No. 2 on the Billboard Country Albums Chart and No. 5 on the Billboard Top 200.

The first single from Suffer in Peace, "A Guy Walks Into a Bar," has also reached the Top 5 in Billboard's Country Airplay chart and is still rising. The hosts of The Today Show surprised Farr with a plaque commemorating the RIAA Gold certification of the song during an appearance last week, celebrating sales of 500,000 units.

Jim Catino and Julian King co-produced Suffer in Peace, which features a duet with Farr's close friend and tourmate Jason Aldean on a song titled "Damn Good Friends." Another key track, "Why We Live Here," was inspired by Farr’s tour of U.S. Navy bases overseas during this past holiday season.

The focus on songs of greater substance has resulted in a warm critical reception for Suffer in Peace, to go along with its sales success. The New York Times describes the album as a “collection of Southern rock cut through with real moments of tenderness,” while Rolling Stone Country says, "The bulk of the album does what few contemporary country releases do today: explore the human condition. Especially in its title track.”

Farr is currently on the road with Aldean on his Burn It Down tour.

Tyler Farr Explains How He Got His Voice