Five #LetTheGirlsPlay artists shared a very unusual cover at a recent Song Suffragettes show in downtown Nashville, re-arranging Gnarls Barkley's "Crazy" in an acoustic version.

The LTGP artists get together in a rotating roster of five at the Listening Room in Music City to share their original songs each Monday, and at the end of the night they come together for a group cover song. They usually pay homage to an influential female performer, but on Jan. 16 they took a different tack, putting an acoustic spin on the massive pop hit from the pop-soul duo that consisted of CeeLo Green and Danger Mouse.

From left to right in the video above, Parker McKay, Lena Stone, Kalie Shorr, Jenny Ray and Kaylin Roberson strip the song down to its chords, melody and lyrics, without any of the production that powered the song to become a massive worldwide hit in 2006, and it works surprisingly well.

LTGP mainstay Shorr begins the song and underpins it on acoustic guitar as she so often does, with Stone following her on the second part of the first verse and Ray taking lead for the first chorus. McKay and Roberson also bring their own vocal talents to the second verse, with all of the women trading harmonies and lead vocals throughout the rest of the performance.

The #LetTheGirlsPlay movement launched in Nashville to help ease the marketplace inequalities for women in country music and provide them a spotlight for their original work, as well as networking opportunities. The Monday night shows are part showcase, part support group. It's been working, too; LTGP artists have seen their careers take off, including Kasey Tyndall, who recently signed a deal with Sony/ATV, one of Nashville's most influential publishing houses.

Taste of Country has always been a committed supporter of the movement. Look for LTGP cover songs on the site once a week, and featured artist profiles once a month in addition to regular special features. This month's featured artist is Lacy Cavalier.

A #LetTheGirlsPlay Original! Listen to Kalie Shorr's "Nothin' New"

More From Taste of Country