Jeff Bridges has set the date for the release of his highly-anticipated debut album on EMI's Blue Note Records. On August 16, the self-titled project from the Oscar-winning actor will hit stores, giving his fans more of what they grew to love when he portrayed a grizzled former country music legend in the 2009 film 'Crazy Heart.'

The 11-track album is being produced by Bridges' 'Crazy Heart' collaborator and multiple Grammy Award-winning songwriter, musician and producer, T Bone Burnett. The new music is an organic extension and culmination of his personal, professional, and now musical friendship with Burnett, whom he has known for more than 30 years.

Bridges signed his record deal with EMI's Blue Note Music earlier this year and got started working on the new project, which he has been recording in both Los Angeles and New York. The compilation of songs will feature material by many world-class songwriters, including the late Stephen Bruton, John Goodwin, Greg Brown and Bo Ramsay. Bridges' album will also feature some tunes that he wrote, including the tracks 'Falling Short,' ''Tumbling Vine,' 'I Will Wait' (co-written with Burnett and Goodwin) and 'Slow Boat' (which he co-wrote with Burnett and Cobb).

Bridges and Burnett met over 30 years ago when Kris Kristofferson introduced them during the filming of the 1980 motion picture ‘Heaven’s Gate.’ The two kept their friendship and business relationship going strong over the years, as Burnett was responsible for selecting the songs that appeared on the soundtrack to Bridges' 1998 film 'The Big Lebowski.' Burnett also co-wrote several songs for the soundtrack to 'Crazy Heart,' including 'The Weary Kind,' which earned him his second Oscar nomination and first win (along with songwriter Ryan Bingham) for Best Original Song.

'Jeff Bridges' Track Listing:

1. 'What A Little Bit Of Love Can Do'
2. 'I Will Wait'
3. 'Falling Short'
4. 'Maybe I Missed The Point'
5. 'Tumbling Vine'
6. 'Nothing Yet'
7. 'Blue Car'
8. 'Slow Boat'
9. 'Either Way'
10. 'Everything But Love'
11. 'The Quest'

More From Taste of Country