Mike Eli couldn't have looked more shocked when cameras focused on him and his bandmates reacting after their name was read as Song of the Year winners at the 2012 ACM Awards. The Eli Young Band singer remained seated for a moment before realizing his time to thank the appropriate people behind 'Crazy Girl' was wasting away.

Early on, the 47th annual ACM Awards have produced two surprises, with Thompson Square taking home the trophy for Vocal Duo of the Year during a pre-show presentation on Saturday. For fans expecting this show's accolades to go to the artists they've depended on for years, it's been a shocking night.

"I have dreamed of this moment my whole life," Eli said, speaking first. He went on to encourage anyone with a dream at home to chase it as recklessly as needed. Lee Brice also accepted a trophy for the award as he and songwriter Liz Rose penned 'Crazy Girl.' Earlier in the night Brice talked about how much he wanted to win the award for the Eli Young Band. He made special mention of how hard they'd worked to get where they were.

'Crazy Girl' is also up for the Single Record of the Year Award, and the Eli Young Band are up for the Vocal Group of the Year Awards.

More From Taste of Country