Dave Cobb, the producer behind Chris Stapleton's Traveller, Jason Isbell's Southeastern and Nothing More Than Free albums, among others, will release a compilation album that features both of those artists and many more.

Titled Southern Family, the concept album, which pays tribute to family, also features songs from Zac Brown, Miranda Lambert, Brandy Clark, John Paul White, the Black Crowes' Rich Robinson, Shooter Jennings and Holly Williams. It will be released on March 18 on Cobb's Low Country Sound record label.

Cobb tells Rolling Stone Country that a friend suggested he make a concept record. While he says he "laughed him off the phone," as Cobb thought more about the idea, he eventually came up with Southern Family.

"Everybody has a great story, about their parents, their grandparents, brother, sister," he explains. "Everybody has an intimate story and it was something that everybody could relate to. I wanted to have really talented artists custom write and do songs that mean a lot to them, and also just make the song that maybe they wouldn't put on their record: the deep song, or the song that doesn't fit in the queue or wouldn't be a single. I wanted them to do the most honest song they could possibly do."

He adds, "And people really brought it and poured their hearts out. They were enjoying the fact that they could do a song that wasn't precious or didn't have to fit a mold. It was a song they wouldn't put on their album, and it's been a lot of fun."

Southern Family will be available on March 18.

Dave Cobb and Friends, Southern Family Track Listing:

1. John Paul White, “Simple Song”
2. Jason Isbell, “God Is a Working Man”
3. Brent Cobb, “Down Home”
4. Miranda Lambert, “Sweet By and By”
5. Morgane Stapleton With Chris Stapleton, “You Are My Sunshine”
6. Zac Brown, “Grandma’s Garden”
7. Jamey Johnson, “Momma’s Table”
8. Anderson East, “Learning”
9. Holly Williams, “Settle Down”
10. Brandy Clark, “I Cried”
11. Shooter Jennings, “Can You Come Over?”
12. Rich Robinson (featuring the Settles Connection), “The Way Home”

Biggest Stories of 2015

More From Taste of Country