Rising country star Craig Campbell has a new album coming out in May, and its first single, 'Outta My Head,' is already sitting inside the Top 40 on the Billboard charts. At the recent Country Radio Seminar in Nashville, Campbell told Taste of Country that he almost didn't get to cut the song.

Campbell first heard the tune when it was sent to him on a demo. One of the writers is a friend of his, and the singer called him up to talk about cutting the track. "I told him, 'Dude, I love the song,' and he's like, 'You're not supposed to have that song -- that song is on hold,'" Campbell recalled with a laugh. "Scotty McCreery had it on hold."

The 'Family Man' singer had been so immediately struck by the song's lyrics and strong chorus that he was determined to get the cut for himself. "I said, 'I don't know what's going on with Scotty, but I'm telling you, if you let me record this song, I'm pretty sure -- I'm thinking it might be a single,'" Campbell said. "So Scotty's people let me have it, and when we got out of the studio, that was it. It was the one."

Campbell will release his second studio album, 'Never Regret,' on May 7 via Bigger Picture Group. He co-wrote six of the 12 new tracks, including a song titled 'Topless' that he wrote with his wife, Mindy Ellis. His daughter Preslee also sings on 'When She Grows Up,' a song dedicated to Campbell's two young girls.

The singer is also scheduled to perform at the inaugural Taste of Country Music Festival, which takes place June 13-15 at Hunter Mountain, N.Y.

'Never Regret' is currently available for pre-order at Amazon.

Track Listing for Craig Campbell, 'Never Regret':

1. 'Truck-N-Roll'
2. 'Keep Them Kisses Comin’'
3. 'When She Grows Up'
4. 'Tomorrow Is Gone'
5. 'Never Regret'
6. 'My Baby’s Daddy'
7. 'Topless'
8. 'When Ends Don’t Meet'
9. 'Outta My Head'
10. 'That’s Why God Made A Front Porch'
11. 'You Can Come Over'
12. 'Lotta Good That Does Me Now'

More From Taste of Country