This year marks the 40th anniversary since the formation of Southern rock greats, the Marshall Tucker Band. To commemorate this special milestone, the band is releasing 'The Marshall Tucker Band: Greatest Hits,' which will arrive in stores on Tuesday, April 5.

The 14-song collection features original recordings of the songs that made the Marshall Tucker Band a household name, including 'Can't You See,' 'Take the Highway,' 'I Should Have Never Started Lovin' You,' 'Fire on the Mountain,' 'Ramblin'' and '24 Hours at a Time.'

"Looking back, it was very difficult to choose which songs to include in this album," says lead singer Doug Gray. In addition to releasing the 'Greatest Hits' album, Gray is also gearing up for the release of his lost R&B solo album, 'Soul of the South.'

Gray's new album will hit the shelves April 5, just like the band's 40-year celebration package. The unveiling of the solo project containing eight tracks is the first time the album is seeing the light of day, even though it consists of recordings that are over 30 years old.

More From Taste of Country