Carrie Underwood, Chris Stapleton, Florida Georgia Line, Luke Bryan and Thomas Rhett have been crowned the 2016 CMT Artists of the Year. The five acts will be celebrated on Oct. 20 at Nashville's Schermerhorn Symphony Center.

Both Stapleton and Rhett are first time recipients of the honor, while the others are veterans, having been named CMT Artists of the Year multiple times (Underwood in 2010, 2012, 2016, Florida Georgia Line in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016 and Bryan in 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016).

Bryan is now tied with Jason Aldean for five consecutive CMT Artists of the Year wins.

According to a press release, fans unable to attend the live event can tune in for a 90-minute special, which will air on CMT and honor each artist with "never-before-seen performances alongside hilarious and emotional moments."

Each act was selected because he or she dominated over the last 12 months in country music, CMT’s platforms and country radio, as well as earned chart-topping album and singles, and sold out arenas across the country.

Additionally, Kelsea Ballerini will be named the Breakout Artist of the Year. The "Peter Pan" singer recently made history with her third single off her debut album hitting No. 1 on the country charts. This marks Ballerini as the only female artist in country music history to go No. 1 with her first three consecutive singles from a debut album.

Additional awards, performers and special guests will be announced in the coming weeks. Previous CMT Artists of the Year honorees include Aldean (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014), Kenny Chesney (2011, 2012), Eric Church (2012), Hunter Hayes (2013), Toby Keith (2012), Lady Antebellum (2010, 2011), Little Big Town (2015), Miranda Lambert (2012, 2014), Tim McGraw (2013), Brad Paisley (2011), Blake Shelton (2015), Taylor Swift (2010, 2011), Keith Urban (2014), Sam Hunt (2015) and Zac Brown Band (2010).

40 Reasons to Love Luke Bryan

See Luke Bryan's Most Amazing Moments!

More From Taste of Country