Cyndi Lauper is taking a musical detour with a collection of classic country covers, fittingly called Detour. The 12-track album includes guest features from Vince Gill, Emmylou Harris, JewelAlison Krauss and Willie Nelson.

Detour showcases Lauper's take on country songs made popular in the 1940s, '50s and '60s, like two Pasty Cline songs, "Walkin' After Midnight" and "I Fall to Pieces."

"I spent a lot of time in my room singing with Patsy," Lauper says in a press release. "I had to sing a Patsy Cline song — or two — because her voice was like one of my girlfriends. That's how close I felt to her."

Lauper recorded Detour in Nashville. It is her first release on Sire Records and was produced by Seymour Stein. She says she has dreamed about recording a country album for years and grew up listening to Patsy Cline, Loretta Lynn and Wanda Jackson in her Aunt Gracie's kitchen.

"When I was a really young kid, country music was pop music, so this is what we grew up listening to," she explains. "These songs are part of some of my earliest memories so it has been an absolute thrill to revisit them."

Cyndi Lauper's Detour will be available on May 6.

Cyndi Lauper, Detour Track Listing

1. "Funnel of Love"
2. "Detour" featuring Emmylou Harris
3. "Misty Blue"
4. "Walkin' After Midnight"
5. "Heartaches by the Number"
6. "The End of the World"
7. "Night Life" featuring Willie Nelson
8. "Begging to You"
9. "You're the Reason Our Kids Are Ugly" featuring Vince Gill
10. "I Fall to Pieces"
11. "I Want to Be a Cowboy's Sweetheart" featuring Jewel
12. "Hard Candy Christmas" featuring Alison Krauss

See More Pop and Rock Stars Who've Gone Country