Taylor Swift and the Band Perry are among the artists nominated for the 2013 Billboard Milestone award. The newly-announced multi-genre award will be handed out at the Billboard Music Awards in May.

The Milestone award will go to "an innovative artist that achieved a notable chart milestone over the past year," according to Billboard. The six nominees are rounded out by Justin Bieber, Miguel, Bruno Mars and Pitbull.

Fans can vote online to narrow the six down to three, who will be announced in mid-April. Voting will continue all the way through the live Billboard Music Awards broadcast, with the winner announced toward the end of the show.

"The addition of the Milestone Award gives us the opportunity to recognize truly creative artists that are breaking boundaries with their contribution to today's musical landscape," says Billboard Editorial Director Bill Werde. “These awards are for artists who have created music and accomplishments that are part of history. It's an honor to work with a historic brand like Chevrolet to bring them into focus as part of this year’s Billboard Music Awards."

The Billboard Music Awards will air live from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas at 8PM ET on ABC. Swift is set to perform.